Four-Star Chapter Award

This award was established in 1985 to annually recognize Alpha Sigma Alpha’s collegiate chapters that uphold the high ideals of the sorority in the areas of membership, academic excellence, finances, membership education, chapter operations, service and giving, national meetings, ritual, organization image, national bylaws, policies and procedures, advisory board and alumnae involvement.

Crown of Excellence Award

The Crown of Excellence Award was established in conjunction with the Four-Star Chapter Award to recognize the chapter achieving the highest percentage of requirements toward the Four-Star Chapter Award. It is the top honor a collegiate chapter can receive. In 2006, three additional levels of recognition were added for chapters that are on their way to being four-star chapters.


are chapters that have shown a commitment to each other, their chapter and the national organization by upholding the high ideals of the sorority.


are chapters that have built on that commitment and have embraced the responsibility of membership to ensure that the sorority remains strong.


are chapters that have vowed fully to uphold their role, responsibility and commitment to being an energizing influence in the future of their chapter and Alpha Sigma Alpha.

In addition to the overall chapter awards, Alpha Sigma Alpha recognizes chapters for excellence in specified areas of chapter operations.

Scholastic Achievement Award

This award is presented to a collegiate chapter with the highest GPA for a school term among the chapters with grades reported from the college or university.

Rose Marie Fellin Financial Excellence Award

This award was established in 1992 in honor of Rose Marie Fellin’s 27 years of service as the headquarters executive. This award is given to a collegiate chapter practicing the principles of sound financial management through thorough record keeping, accurate and timely financial reports, communicating with national headquarters and staying current with all fees and dues along with striving toward healthy financial stability.

Recruitment Excellence Award

The Recruitment Excellence Award, established in 2010, is presented to a chapter that has met its recruitment targets set for the year, has reached campus Quota and Total and has been innovative in its approach to planning and implementing a quality recruitment plan.

Sidney Gremillion Allen Panhellenic Award

This award is given to the collegiate chapter that displays outstanding Panhellenic spirit and participation. The Panhellenic award was named after Sidney Gremillion Allen, Psi Psi, at the 1994 national convention to honor her 14 years of service as National Panhellenic Conference delegate. During this time, she was the first Alpha Sigma Alpha to rotate through the executive board of NPC, serving as chairman from 1985 to 1987.

Dr. S. June Smith Service and Giving Award

The service and giving award is given to a chapter that best exhibits the Alpha Sigma Alpha value of generosity. Service and giving back to the community is an important part of Alpha Sigma Alpha chapters. The amount of time taken to work with others as well as fundraising for the national philanthropic partners is the basis of this award.