On Oct. 23, 1986 the Alpha Sigma Alpha Foundation was officially incorporated.

This milestone was a major goal of National President Rosemary Carucci Goss, ΒΠ. With the help of the Sorority’s Vice President of Finance Diane Yencic James, HH, the bylaws and articles of incorporation were created. Shortly thereafter, Emma Coleman Frost, ΠΠ, made a sizeable gift to the new Foundation. Years later, the Leadership Development Institute (LDI) was renamed the Emma Coleman Frost Leadership Development Institute in honor of Mrs. Frost’s vital support of the Foundation in early years of its development.

The first scholarship endowment was funded by Lois V. Beers, ΒΓ, in honor of the 1990 installation of Beta Gamma Chapter. In 2001 the Foundation introduced career enhancement grants and the Freida Riley Award for teaching excellence.

Since that time, the Foundation has grown tremendously, awarding more than $500,000 in grants, awards and scholarships to benefit Alpha Sigma Alpha members.

With the growth of generous donors, the Foundation has been able to provide even more assistance to collegians and alumnae.